Cards

Shake, Shake, Shake! // Two Vellum Shaker Cards

These two cards are my very first shaker cards! Essentially, they are made with a panel full of sequins that move around when you shake the card. I’ve noticed that many shaker cards are made with an acetate or clear panel on the front, so you can see right through to the sequins, but since I didn’t have any acetate on hand, I decided to use vellum and I love the translucent, soft effect it gives. Sparkle and Shine Shaker CardI love how colorful this first card turned out. I used the Small Stitched Rectangle dies from Lawn Fawn to create the window panel and to cut the vellum to the correct size. I then stamped and heat embossed the Sparkle and Shine sentiment with Liquid Platinum embossing powder (both of which came in my December Simon Says Stamp Monthly Kit). To put the shaker panel together, I added two layers of double sided foam tape all around the window and dropped a multitude of gem-colored sequins (i may have gone a little overboard here) onto the back panel of the card. I also glued some sequins directly to the back panel of the window, just so they’d always stay put when all the other sequins fall to the bottom of the card. I then adhered the window down to the back pannel. The sequins I used are a combination of Moonshine Sequins from Simon Says Stamp and an assortment of gem tone sequins I got from Michaels, –  can’t remember the brand :(  After the shaker panel was put together, I mounted it onto a piece of patterned paper, and then onto a 4.25″ x 5″ card base.

Snow Much Thanks Shaker CardThis second card is a bit more…subtle? it was pretty difficult to photograph because I used white embossing powder on the vellum this time (and because I really need to get my lighting situation figured out). The process of putting the card together was pretty much the same, although I used the stitched rectangle dies from Simon Says Stamp for this one, and made the window a bit more interesting by inlaying a small window of purple patterned paper inside the larger window.

Vellum Shaker CardI also stamped some stars and asterisks on the back panel of the window, behind the vellum, with white ink covered with Grape Fizz Perfect Pearls. The stamps, white ink pad, Perfect Pearls and patterned paper all came from the January SSS card kit (I love those things). For the “shakers” I used moonshine sequins and used a little more restraint this time :)

SSS January Card Kit Shaker CardI also stamped a few stars and an asterisk on the inside of the card, and embellished them with some perfect pearls –  just to add a little somethin’ somethin.’

kimberly

4 thoughts on “Shake, Shake, Shake! // Two Vellum Shaker Cards”

  1. I love making shaker cards so much fun. I never thought about using vellum but I will now! So glad you didn’t have acetate.
    You’re a very talented card maker!

comment on this post